ICC Champions Trophy 2002/03

2002/03 - Sri Lanka

Winners: India/Sri Lanka

The 2002 ICC Champions Trophy was held in Sri Lanka in 2002. After the first two tournaments were held under the ICC KnockOut name, this event was renamed with 12 teams, including the 10 Full Members, the Netherlands and Kenya, divided equally in four groups and the top team from each group progressing to the semi-finals. The tournament was due to be held in India, but was switched to Sri Lanka when an exemption from tax in India was not granted.

In the first semi-final played between India and South Africa, India pulled off a stunning 10-run victory over South Africa at the Premadasa Stadium. The Proteas, chasing 262 for victory, looked in complete command when it reached 192-1 in the 37th over when Herschelle Gibbs retired after scoring a 119-ball 116 with 16 fours. It turned out to be the turning point in the match as not only the runs dried for South Africa but wickets also started falling at regular intervals before the Proteas finished at 251-6.

Virender Sehwag, who earlier scored 59, chipped in with 3-25 to walk away with the man of the match award. Besides Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh (62), Rahul Dravid (49) were the other main run-getters in India's 261-9.

In the other semi-final, Sri Lanka, swayed by the electrifying atmosphere created by their fans at the R Premadasa Stadium crushed Australia by seven wickets. The home team spinners, led by Muthiah Muralidaran (3-26) limited Australia for only 162. Marvan Atapattu (52), Sanath Jayasuriya (42) and Kumar Sangakkara (48) made sure that the target was achieved without any hiccups.

The weather gods played spoilsports on the two days the final was played. On the first day, India, chasing 245 for victory, was 14-0 in two overs when rain prevented any further play while on the second, India chasing 223 for victory, was 38-1 in 8.3 overs rain again came down in force again to prevent any further play.

The trophy was shared by the two neighbors, not to mention the prize money of USD $300,000, which was equally split between the two sides.