ICC Champions Trophy 2009

2009 - South Africa

Winner: Australia

The tournament was originally scheduled to be held in Pakistan between 12 and 28 September 2008.

The ICC postponed the tournament due to security fears expressed by several participating countries; many countries did not want to play in Pakistan after an attack on the Sri Lankan team by militants.

On 24 July 2008, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that the tournament would take place in Pakistan after all despite players from Australia, England, South Africa and New Zealand raising concerns over touring the country.

On 22 August 2008, South Africa announced that it would not take part in the Champions Trophy due to security concerns. Two days later, on 24 August 2008, after speculation that the tournament would be held elsewhere (England, Sri Lanka, or South Africa), the ICC announced that the tournament would be postponed until October 2009.

At its meeting in January 2009, the ICC board decided to move the tournament out of Pakistan on security concerns. At the time, Sri Lanka was the favoured alternate host. In March 2009, the ICC Chief Executives' Committee recommended to the ICC board that the tournament be held in South Africa as there were concerns that the weather in Sri Lanka during September and October could result in too many games being washed out.

The ICC board ratified the recommendation, and the event took place in South Africa between 22 September and 5 October 2009. Matches were played at Wanderers Stadium and Centurion Park, both in the Johannesburg area.

While there were few genuinely nail-biting games, the quality of cricket was high and the consensus was that it had helped stem, if not reverse, the slide in the competition's credibility, although crowds were healthy only at select games; South Africa's games, the Pakistan-India tie and the Pakistan semi-final.

New Zealand had upset the form book by defeating Pakistan in the semi-finals, aided by poor umpiring and dropped catches.

Australia successfully defended their title, beating New Zealand with something to spare in the final; New Zealand batted first and made 200 runs, in fifty overs, after losing 9 wickets. Australia chased the target and managed to reach it within 45.2 overs, with six wickets in hand. With this, Australia has registered not only its second, but also consecutive win in the Champions Trophy.



Top 10 Batsmen & Bowlers