ICC Champions Trophy 2000/01 (ICC Knock-out)

2000/01 - Kenya

Winner: New Zealand

The 2000 event was held in Kenya. New Zealand were crowned champions and collected the winner's cheque of US$250 000. It was their first-ever win in a major ICC tournament. India players Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj Singh and West Indies' Marlon Samuels made their ODI debuts during the competition.

Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, Kenya, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe were the 11 teams that took part in the event. Six teams played in the three preliminary quarter-finals in which India defeated Kenya by eight wickets, Sri Lanka trounced West Indies by 108 runs and England outplayed Bangladesh to join the other five teams in the quarter-finals.

In the quarter-finals, India beat Australia by 20 runs, Pakistan defeat Sri Lanka by nine wickets, New Zealand beat Zimbabwe by 64 runs and South Africa beat England by eight wickets.

In the first semi-final, New Zealand held its nerves to beat Pakistan by four wickets after Moin Khan's team had build on Saeed Anwar's century to post 252 in 49.2 overs. Shayne O'Connor, later adjudged man of the match, was the picjk of New Zealand bowlers with 5-46. In turn, New Zealand recovered from 2-15 to achieve the target with four wickets and six deliveries to spare. Roger Twose was the star of New Zealand's victory with a 101-ball 87 that included 14 fours. Together with Nathan Astle (49), Twose added 135 runs for the third wicket. Craig McMillan provided the final impetus to the innings by scoring an unbeaten 56-ball 51. For Pakistan, Azhar Mahmood took 4-65.

India set a final date with New Zealand when it defeated South Africa by 95 runs in the other semi-final. Sourav Ganguly led from the front with a superb 141 off 142 balls which included 11 fours and 6 sixes as India collected 295-6 in 50 overs. In reply, the Proteas were bowled out for 200 in 41 overs with Mark Boucher scoring 60.

Ganguly carried his rich form in the final by scoring 117 runs in 130 balls (9 fours, 4 sixes). Together with Sachin Tendulkar (69), Ganguly put on 141 runs in 26.3 overs but after his departure at the score of 220 in 42.3 overs, India lost its way and finished at 264-6 in 50 overs. India started well and reduced New Zealand to 132-5 but Chris Cairns turned the match on its head by a ruthless display of batting. Cairns scored an undefeated 102 off 113 balls with eight fours and two sixes and added 122 runs for the sixth wicket with Chris Harris (46) as the Black Caps romped to victory in 49.2 overs with four wickets to spare. Cairns was declared man of the match.