Ten more medals for SA swimmers at African Games in Ghana

aquatics10 March 2024 21:36| © SuperSport
article image

The SA swimming squad competing at the African Games added 10 more medals to Team SA’s haul on the second night of action in Accra, Ghana on Sunday.

Saturday’s opening night of swimming saw the team earning a total of seven medals – four of them gold, two silver and one bronze, and there was plenty more to celebrate on the pool deck on Sunday.

Simone Moll and Georgia Els ensured the country’s proud record in international breaststroke events was extended, taking the top two spots on the 100m breaststroke podium. Moll took the gold in a time of 1 minute 09.50 seconds with Els clinching the silver in 1:09.91.

Team SA once again topped the podium in the mixed 4x100m medley relay. Tayla Jonker, Petrus Truter, Jarden Eaton and Caitlin de Lange joined forces and led throughout to claim gold in a time of 3:57.56, ahead of Egypt (4:03.26) and Algeria (4:03.34).

Meanwhile, Hannah Mouton secured silver in the 200m freestyle in a time of 2:04.08 with Catherine van Rensburg adding to her 1500m freestyle gold from Saturday with bronze in the 200m event in 2:04.35. Egypt’s Lojine Hamed took the gold in 2:03.63.

Cailtin de Lange claimed silver in the 50m butterfly to add to her 100m freestyle gold from Saturday. She finished second in 26.81 behind world championship medallist Farida Osman of Egypt (26.02).

Fresh from breaking the South African record in the 50m backstroke at the recent World Aquatics Championships in Doha, Tayla Jonker claimed silver in the 200m backstroke in Accra. Anishta Teeluck of Mauritius collected the gold in 2:17.71 with the young Jonker second in 2:21.84.

Three more swimmers added bronze medals to Team SA’s growing collection: Andrew Ross in the 200m freestyle (1:51.09), Jarden Eaton in the 50m butterfly (24.42) and Helgaard Muller in the 200m backstroke (2:03.99).

Swimming action continues in Accra on Monday.

SA swimming medals at the African Games


Clayton Jimmie (100m freestyle)

Caitlin de Lange (100m freestyle)

Catherine van Rensburg (1500m freestyle)

Simone Moll (100m breaststroke)

Mixed 4x100m freestyle relay (Cailtin de Lange, Georgia Els, Andrew Ross, Clayton Jimmie)

Mixed 4x100m medley relay (Tayla Jonker, Petrus Truter, Jarden Eaton, Caitlin de Lange)


Matthew Caldwell (800m freestyle)

Leigh McMorran (200m butterfly)

Hannah Mouton (200m freestyle)

Georgia Els (100m breaststroke)

Caitlin de Lange (50m butterfly)

Tayla Jonker (200m backstroke)


Liam Vehbi (200m butterfly)

Catherine van Rensburg (200m freestyle)

Andre Ross (200m freestyle)

Jarden Eaton (50m butterfly)

Helgaard Muller (200m backstroke)