Steyn, Wiersma dominate Comrades Marathon

athletics09 June 2024 10:57
article image
Gerda Steyn Β© Gallo Images

Dutch runner Piet Wiersma put last year's disappointment behind him to win the 97th Comrades Marathon on Sunday fending off challenge from South Africa's Dan Moselakwe, who finished second.

Wiersma becomes the first Dutch runner to win the race, and first non-South African runner to win the race since 2011.

It was a disappointing outing for last year's winner Tete Dijana, who failed to make it three out of three.

In the women's race Gerda Steyn claimed her second successive win after leading from start to finish, becoming only the fifth woman to win the race three times.