Sanchez escapes through dust and gravel for nervy Giro triumph

cycling09 May 2024 16:30| © AFP
article image
Pelayo Sanchez © Gallo Images

Spain's Pelayo Sanchez of the Movistar team emerged from the dust, gravel and hills after a 180km ride to Rapolano Terme to beat Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe by a bike length in the Giro d'Italia sixth stage on Thursday.

The pair broke away from the main peloton 40km from home accompanied by Australian Lucas Plapp, who took the virtual lead during this stage ensuring the big guns hunted the trio all the way to the line.

The 180km were covered in a mere 4hrs 1min and 8sec of pulsating racing, with the peloton arriving just 29sec adrift despite the hills and the gravel.

This sixth of 21 stages then was raced just as frantically as the previous five on a nervy Giro d'Italia still led by the Slovenian Tadej Pogacar.

The white gravel roads also feature in the Strade Bianche classic, won by Alaphilippe in 2019, and almost delivered the Quick Step veteran a new triumph.

Pogacar won on the same roads this year and on Thursday was reluctant to allow his overall leader's pink jersey go as his team relentlessly chased the escape trio, likely denying Alaphilippe a win as the 24-year-old Sanchez closed out faster.

"It was an insane day. The race was out of control the whole stage. It was ridiculous for the first 80km," third placed Plapp said.

The winner echoed the same sentiment.

"It's crazy. I don't have words. All day full gas," said Sanchez. "I never imagined winning the stage."

Pogacar leads Geraint Thomas by 46sec and Dani Martinez by 47 ahead of Friday's long 40km individual time trial that culminates with a climb to the Perugia finish line.


1. Pelayo Sánchez (ESP) Movistar Team 4:01:08

2. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Soudal - Quick-Step "

3. Lucas Plapp (AUS) Team Jayco - AlUla +1

4. Andrea Piccolo (ITA) EF Education - EasyPost +24

5. Jhonatan Narváez (ECU) INEOS Grenadiers +29

6. Luka Mezgec (SLO) Team Jayco - AlUla "

7. Quinten Hermans (BEL) Alpecin - Deceuninck "

8. Nicholas Schultz (AUS) Israel - Premier Tech "

9. Daniel Martínez (COL) BORA - hansgrohe "

10. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ) Astana - Qazaqstan Team "

11. Lilian Calmejane (FRA) Intermarché - Wanty "

12. Alex Baudin (FRA) Decathlon - AG2R - La "

Mondiale Team

13. Simone Velasco (ITA) Astana - Qazaqstan Team "

14. Michael Valgren (DEN) EF Education - EasyPost "

15. Geraint Thomas (GBR) INEOS Grenadiers "

16. Lewis Askey (GBR) Groupama - FDJ "

17. Alessandro Verre (ITA) Arkéa - B&B Hotels "

18. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates "

19. Antonio Tiberi (ITA) Bahrain Victorious "

20. Enzo Paleni (FRA) Groupama - FDJ "


1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates 23:20:52

2. Geraint Thomas (GBR) INEOS Grenadiers +46

3. Daniel Martínez (COL) BORA - hansgrohe +47

4. Cian Uijtdebroeks (BEL) Team Visma - Lease a Bike +55

5. Einer Rubio (COL) Movistar Team +56

6. Lorenzo Fortunato (ITA) Astana - Qazaqstan Team +1:07

7. Juan Pedro López (ESP) Lidl - Trek +1:11

8. Jan Hirt (CZE) Soudal - Quick-Step +1:13

9. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ) Astana - Qazaqstan Team +1:26

10. Esteban Chaves (COL) EF Education - EasyPost "

11. Ben O'Connor (AUS) Decathlon - AG2R - La "

Mondiale Team

12. Michael Storer (AUS) Tudor Pro Cycling Team +1:33

13. Alex Baudin (FRA) Decathlon - AG2R - La +1:40

Mondiale Team

14. Mauri Vansevenant (BEL) Soudal - Quick-Step +1:44

15. Lucas Plapp (AUS) Team Jayco - AlUla +1:57

16. Filippo Zana (ITA) Team Jayco - AlUla +2:07

17. Jhonatan Narváez (ECU) INEOS Grenadiers +2:09

18. Romain Bardet (FRA) Team dsm-firmenich - +2:33


19. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) VF Group - Bardiani - CSF "

- Faizanè

20. Georg Steinhauser (GER) EF Education - EasyPost +2:49