Compact Cup selection spurs Shabalala and others

football10 January 2022 16:47
article image
Mduduzi Shabalala © Backpagepix

DStv Diski challenge youngsters have given more reasons why they deserve to be in the DStv Compact Cup line-up. 

The Compact Cup, which will be played over the last two Saturdays – 22nd and 29th of January – will see all 16 DStv Premiership teams be divided into four groups (two inland and two coastal regions) and comprise four teams to compete against each other.

A total of 16 Diski Challenge youngsters were roped in to form part of the four teams, which consist of 26 players per squad. 

Mduduzi Shabalala from Kaizer Chiefs, Thulani Mini of Chippa United, Lindokuhle Zungu of AmaZulu and Sonwabo Khumalo of Orlando Pirates are among the 16 Diski Challenge youngsters who will be part of the tourney. 

This past weekend when the Diski Challenge resumed, the lads gave another reason why they deserved to be playing in the Compact Cup. 

Shabalala carried Chiefs Reserves on his shoulders when they played against Royal AM. He scored a hat-trick to keep Amakhposi in the game. However, it was not enough to get them something on the day as they lost the match 5-4. 

However, he proved that he is ready to launch his career on a bigger stage. This was not his only outstanding performance; he has played a vital role in the Chiefs squad throughout the season. 

In December, when Chiefs experienced Covid-19 in their camp, the former SA under-17 star was roped in and was on the bench when they played a league match against Sekhukhune United. 

Chippa United dribbling wizard Thulani Mini, meanwhile, has been a breath of fresh air in the Diski Challenge. Mini scored a brace when his side ran riot against Marumo Gallants, beating them 5-2. In December, the soft-spoken player was also part of The Chilli Boys' first team. 

Pirates midfielder Sonwabo Khumalo also displayed a sterling performance when Pirates beat Mamelodi Sundowns 3-2 on Sunday. Khumalo promises to be one for the future for the Buccaneers.

Here is the list of the Diski Challenge players that were drafted in the Diski Compact squads: 


Samukelo Mzolo – Golden Arrows
Lindokuhle Zungu – AmaZulu
Siphesihle Ngcobo – Maritzburg United
Tshepo Moeketsi – Royal AM 


Thulani “Scara” Mini – Chippa United 
Phumlo “Kaka” Sifumba – Cape Town City FC
Athenkosi Mcaba – Stellenbosch FC
Maesele Lekoloane – Baroka FC 


Kabelo Moagi – Mamelodi Sundowns 
Sibusiso Nkosi – Marumo Gallants 
Ryan Manning – SuperSport United 
Manxele Sanele – Sekhukhune United 


Mduduzi Shabalala – Kaizer Chiefs 
Khumalo Sonwabo – Orlando Pirates 
Aphelele Teto – TS Galaxy 
Siphesihle Mbhele – Swallows FC