Kwem hat-trick inspires AmaZulu to Arrows win

football12 November 2023 15:55| © Mzansi Football

AmaZulu FC showed character as they claimed a come-from-behind 3-1 win over Golden Arrows in Sunday's DStv Premiership match at the Mpumalanga Stadium in Hammarsdale.

The impressive victory elevated Usuthu to the eighth spot on the league standings and they will be looking to make it two wins in a row across all competitions when they face Stellenbosch FC on 25 November.

Arrows, on the other hand, remained fourth in the standings after recording their third successive loss across all competitions. Abafana Bes'thende will be keen to return to winning ways when they face Cape Town City on 26 November.

Usuthu suffered a blow in the 11th minute as one of their key defenders, Thembela Sikhakhane went down injured and he was replaced by fellow experienced defender Ramahlwe Mphahlele.

Abafana Bes'thende upped the tempo and they managed to break the deadlock in the 17th minute when Ryan Moon's flicked header was turned home by Gladwin Shitolo who handed Arrows a 1-0 lead at halftime.

However, Usuthu pushed for the equliaising goal after the restart with coach Pablo Franco Martin having introduced Augustine Chidi Kwem in the 71st minute. The Nigerian striker made it 1-1 with 10 minutes left.

The visitors did not sit back after leveling matters as they continued to surge forward in numbers and they took the lead for the first time in the 83rd minute when Riaan Hanamub set up Kwem who made it 2-1 to AmaZulu.

The former Chippa United star was not done as he completed his hat-trick in stoppage time. Kwem received a pass from Celimpilo Ngema and he then fired past goalkeeper Ismail Watenga to seal AmaZulu's 3-1 win.

Arrows (1) 1 Shitolo 17')

AmaZulu (0) 3 (Kwem 80', 83', 90'+3)

Arrows: Watenga, Shitolo, Cross, Mantshiyane, Mhlongo, Dube (Ncube 78'), Tlolane (Mshanti 57'), Ndwandwe, Zwane (Sibiya 57'), Moon, Van Rooi (Gbagbo 86')

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede (Maluleka 88'), Sikhakhane (Mphahlele 11'), Mobara, Hanamub, Jooste, Motshwari (Moremi 46'), Ekstein (Mbanjwa 71'), Ngema, Brooks (Kwem 71'), Dion.