Swallows safe despite losing to Matsatsantsa

football18 May 2024 15:00| © Backpage TXT

SuperSport United picked up only their second win of the year after beating Moroka Swallows 2-0 at the Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium on Saturday, 18 May.

Gavin Hunt's side extended their unbeaten run in the DStv Premiership to four matches as they climbed above Sekhukhune United into fifth place with one fixture remaining in the season.

The Dube Birds secured their top-flight status for the 2024-25 campaign after Richards Bay suffered a 3-1 defeat to Cape Town City which maintained the gap between the two teams at five points.

SuperSport were eyeing their first win in three games after claiming back-to-back draws against Sekhukhune United (1-1) and Cape Town Spurs (0-0), while Swallows hoped to build on a 2-0 victory over Stellenbosch which took them within two points of safety.

It was the hosts who got off to a flying start when Bilal Baloyi opened the scoring after just seven minutes to register his first goal for the club since being promoted to the first team earlier this year.

The Dube Birds looked to respond and Ricardo Goss had to be alert to deny them an equaliser on 20 minutes as he pulled off an excellent save to keep out a header.

But Matsatsantsa doubled their lead six minutes before halftime courtesy of a firm header from Bradley Grobler after he got on the end of Siviwe Magidigidi's fine cross.

The visitors continued to search for a way back into the contest after the restart and they were given hope late on when Gabadinho Mhango was fouled inside the 18-yard area on 80 minutes.

But the Malawian striker failed from the spot for the second time in three matches after Goss expertly saved his penalty to preserve an eighth clean sheet of the season.

SuperSport United (2) 2 (Baloyi 7', Grobler 39')

Moroka Swallows (0) 0

SuperSport United: R. Goss, G. Lungu, T. Hlatshwayo, B. Baloyi, O. Bhasera, S. Ndlovu, G. Margeman (K. Allan 82'), L. Lakay, S. Magidigidi (S. Rasebotja 76'), T. Dzvukamanja (G. Moralo 73'), B. Grobler.

Moroka Swallows: D. Akpeyi, T. Maponya (G. Damons 46'), K. Mngonyama, V. Sibiya, N. Ngqonga, R. Sanou (L. Koapeng 67'), L. Phalane (T. Mthethwa 46'), J. Everson (L. Mbanjwa 15'), L. Mtshali, S. Khumalo (O. Khumalo 67'), G. Mhango.