Mabasa adds name to illustrious list of Golden Boot winners

football26 May 2024 20:30| © Mzansi Football
article image
Tshegofatso Mabasa © Gallo Images

Tshegofatso Mabasa was crowned top scorer in the DStv Premiership with 16 goals, putting the polish on his personal performance by scoring the goal that secured for his club Orlando Pirates a spot in next season’s African Champions League.

He is the first winner from Pirates since Malawi international Frank ‘Gabadinho’ Mhango shared the award in the Covid-affected 2019/20 season, and will be awarded the trophy named after another Pirates goal ace when the Premier Soccer League hold their awards ceremony next week.

Lesley Manyathela was the top scorer at the end of the 2002/03 season and was killed in a car accident months later.

Mabasa is the first Golden Boot winner who played, and scored, for two clubs in a single season since Noel Cousins achieved the feat with Arcadia and Moroka Swallows in 1989.

The 27-year-old Mabasa was loaned to Swallows at the start of the season and scored six goals for them but returned to the Buccaneers in January after a crisis at the Birds when the players were not paid in December and the club had to forfeit two games.

His arrival at Pirates could not have been better timed as lead striker Evidence Makgopa was injured on his return from the Africa Cup of Nations finals in the Ivory Coast while Zakhele Lepasa had lost form, and it allowed Mabasa to play.

He netted 10 goals in 12 league starts for Pirates in the second half of the season and his goal against SuperSport United on Saturday meant they finished second, one point above Stellenbosch.

Mabasa, who began his career at Bloemfontein Celtic and took two years before he scored his first goal, finished a single goal above Stellenbosch’s Iqraam Rayners, whose 15 goals included one on the last day of the season away against Richards Bay on Saturday.

The 28-year-old Rayners equalled the PSL record of five goals in a single league game when he netted all the goals in last month’s thrashing of Polokwane City.

Both he and Mabasa squandered a penalty in the campaign.

Mabasa might have got four in the 7-1 home win over Lamontville Golden Arrows in early April but had to settle for a hat-trick while Rayners had a penalty stopped by Mamelodi Sundowns’ Ronwen Williams earlier this month.


2023/24 Tshegofatso Mabasa (Moroka Swallows/Orlando Pirates) 16 

2022/23 Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns) 12

2021/22 Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns) 23

2020/21 Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United) 16

2019/20 Frank Mhango (Orlando Pirates), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns) 16

2018/19 Mwape Musonda (Black Leopards) 16

2017/18 Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) 11

2016/17 Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City) 13

2015/16 Collins Mbesuma (Mpumalanga Black Aces) 14

2014/15 Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars) 14

2013/14 Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs) 10

2012/13 Katlego Mashego (Moroka Swallows) 13

2011/12 Siyabonga Nomvete (Moroka Swallows) 20

2010/11 Knowledge Musona (Kaizer Chiefs) 15

2009/10 Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns) 17

2008/09 Richard Henyekane (Lamontville Golden Arrows) 19

2007/08 James Chamanga (Moroka Swallows) 14

2006/07 Chris Katongo (Jomo Cosmos) 15

2005/06 Mame Niang (Moroka Swallows) 14

2004/05 Collins Mbesuma (Kaizer Chiefs) 25

2003/04 Jackie Ledwaba (Zulu Royals) 14

2002/03 Lesley Manyathela (Orlando Pirates) 18

2001/02 Ishmael Maluleke (Manning Rangers) 18

2000/01 Gilbert Mushangazhike (Manning Rangers) 19

1999/2000 Denis Lota (Orlando Pirates) 18

1998/99 Daniel Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns) 24

1997/98 George Koumantarakis (Manning Rangers) 14

1996/97 Wilfred Mugeyi (Umtata Bush Bucks) 22

1996 Simon Makhubela (Manning Rangers) 12

1995 Gerald Stober (Hellenic) 18

1994 Wilfred Mugeyi (Umtata Bush Bucks) 19

1993 Daniel Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns) 23

1992 George Dearnaley (AmaZulu) 20

1991 Fani Madida (Kaizer Chiefs) 28

1990 Bennett Masinga (Mamelodi Sundowns) 20

1989 Noel Cousins (Arcadia/Moroka Swallows) 21

1988 Shane MacGregor (Rangers/Kaizer Chiefs) 19

1987 Noel Cousins (Arcadia) 25

1986 Thomas Hlongwane (Moroka Swallows) 25

1985 Mike Mangena (Bush Bucks), Frank McGrellis (Wits University) 25

1984 Moran Khulu (Kaizer Chiefs) 25

1983 Noel Cousins (Arcadia), Basil Hollister (African Wanderers/Orlando Pirates) 21