Late Mabasa goal earns Pirates win over AmaZulu

football20 April 2024 17:48| © Backpage TXT
article image
Pirates v Amazulu © X, formerly Twitter

Orlando Pirates were made to sweat for a 1-0 victory over 10-man AmaZulu FC in a DStv Premiership match at the Orlando Stadium on Saturday evening.

As a result, the Buccaneers climbed up to the second spot in the league standings - level on points with third-placed Stellenbosch FC. The Soweto giants will be looking to make it four wins in a row when they square off with Royal AM away on 28 April.

AmaZulu, on the other hand, remained 13th in the league standings - three points behind eighth-placed Golden Arrows. Coach Pablo Franco Martin's side will be desperate for a victory when they lock horns with Chippa United at home on 27 April.

Usuthu were the better side in the opening exchanges, with the likes of Hendrick Ekstein and Victor Letsoalo looking lively. The visitors were unlucky not to take the lead in the ninth minute when Letsoalo hit the upright from close range following a free-kick by Abubaker Mobara.

However, the Buccaneers grew gradually into the match and AmaZulu were reduced to 10 players in the 21st minute after Mobara was sent off as he was adjudged to have denied Pirates a clear goalscoring opportunity. AmaZulu were then able to contain Jose Riveiro's men until the halftime break with the two teams locked at 0-0.

Despite being numerically disadvantaged, Usuthu were able to test Sipho Chaine in the Bucs goal posts in the opening 15 minutes of the second half. The former Bloemfontein Celtic goalkeeper denied former Buccaneers Augustine Mulenga and Ben Motshwari.

In the 62nd minute, Riveiro pulled out the ineffective Kabelo Dlamini and introduced Monnapule Saleng, who proved to be an inspired substitution. The speedster set up Tshegofatso Mabasa who netted his 11th league goal of the season in the 75th minute to seal Pirates' late 1-0 win over AmaZulu.

Pirates (0) 1 (Mabasa 75')

AmaZulu 0 (0)

Pirates: Chaine, Xoki, Sesane, Makhaula, Lebitso, Timm (Ndlondlo 62'), Dlamini (Saleng 62'), Hotto (Maela 83'), Maswanganyi, Mofokeng (Kimvuidi 73'), Mabasa.

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Sikhakhane, Hanamub, Mphahlele, Fielies, Mobara, Motshwari (Kwem 80'), Brooks (Ngema 80'), Ekstein (Moremi 80'), Letsoalo (Dion 70'), Mulenga (Mbanjwa 70').