Richarlison gem wins Goal of the Tournament

football26 December 2022 10:23

Richarlison has emulated Maxi Rodriguez, Diego Forlan, James Rodriguez and Benjamin Pavard and won the Goal of the Tournament award at a Fifa World Cup.

Richarlison’s bicycle kick against Serbia has been voted the Hyundai Goal of the Tournament for the Fifa World Cup Qatar 2022™.

Vinicius Junior delivered an outside-of-the-box cross – one he revealed to Ronaldo he learned studying Luka Modric – to Richarlison, who was 13 yards out with his back to goal. ‘Pombo’ duly flicked it up and acrobatically dispatched it past Vanja Milinkovic-Savic to seal a 2-0 victory.

In a Fifa+ vote, it beat breathtaking efforts from Salem Al-Dawsari against Argentina, Cody Gakpo against Ecuador, Enzo Fernandez against Mexico, Vincent Aboubakar against Serbia, Luis Chavez against Saudi Arabia, Kylian Mbappe against Poland, Richarlison himself against Korea Republic, Paik Seungho against Brazil and Neymar against Croatia.

The Goal of the Tournament was first awarded in 2006. Its previous recipients are Maxi Rodriguez, Diego Forlan, James Rodriguez and Benjamin Pavard.