SA Women's Indoor Hockey Team unveiled for African Hockey Indoor Cup of Nations

17 April 2024 10:30
article image

As anticipation builds for the African Hockey Indoor Cup of Nations scheduled to take place in Swakopmund at the end of May, SPAR South Africa on Wednesday announced the line-up for its Women's Indoor Hockey team.

This prestigious tournament serves as the African qualifier for the highly anticipated FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup set to unfold in Croatia in 2025.

Following their remarkable performance in the 2023 World Cup, where they secured a spot in the semifinals, South Africa have their sights set on clinching victory, with the top two teams in Swakopmund earning a coveted ticket to Croatia.

Led by coach AJ Spieringshoek, South Africa's squad boasts an abundance of experience, totalling an impressive combined 518 indoor hockey test caps.

At the forefront is Jamie Southgate, nearing a milestone 100 caps for her country, exemplifying leadership and skill.

Joining her are standout talents Tegan Fourie and Malikah Hamza, both recognised for their stellar performances, with Fourie clinching the title of SA Hockey Indoor Player and Rising Player of 2023.

Additionally, Daniella de Oliveira, hailed as the Indoor Hockey IPT player of the tournament, and the formidable goalkeeper Sarah Paget, crowned goalkeeper of the tournament, have rightfully earned their spots on the team, showcasing exceptional form.

With eight players from the squad that secured a history making fourth-place finish in the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup, SPAR South Africa possesses a wealth of invaluable experience garnered from competing on the global stage.

This seasoned roster is poised to leverage its collective expertise to once again secure qualification for the upcoming tournament in Croatia.

As excitement mounts for the forthcoming African Hockey Indoor Cup of Nations, South Africa's Women's Indoor Hockey team stand ready to showcase their prowess and determination, aiming to reclaim their status as champions of the continent and secure their passage to the prestigious FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup in 2025.

Broadcast details will be shared on South African Hockey Association social media platforms once confirmed.

SPAR South Africa – African Hockey Indoor Cup of Nations (caps in brackets)

Caylin Den Bakker (11)

Kayla De Waal (50)

Cheree Greyvenstein (70)

Laikén Brisset (23)

Daniella Mendes De Oliveira (37)

Laylaa Davids (5)

Edith Molikoe (69)

Malikah Hamza (17)

Jamie Southgate (92)

Sarah Paget (12)

Jessica Lardant (63)

Tegan Fourie (68)