Pakistan win final ODI, South Africa win series

cricket14 September 2023 17:20| © MWP
By:Liryn de Jager

South Africa won the ODI series against Pakistan 2-1 despite the home team winning the final match in the series by eight wickets.

Chasing 186 for victory after Protea captain Laura Wolvaardt won the toss and elected to bat first at the National Stadium in Karachi, Pakistan reached the required target with 72 balls to spare.

Sidra Ameen and Sadaf Shamas got the Pakistan innings off to a good start, clearly not bothered by the reasonable run-rate.

While Marizanne Kapp and Ayabonga Khaka were economical in their initial overs with the ball, Nadine de Klerk was bleeding runs, conceding 16 in her first over.

There was a brief moment of concern when she slipped and fell during a delivery and had to get some medical assistance.

Khaka got the much-needed breakthrough for South Africa in the 10th over with the score on 39, when De Klerk took a comfortable catch that saw the end of Sadaf for 13 (34b, 1x4).

From then onwards though, it was one-way traffic as Sidra and Bismah Maroof went about their business scoring runs at will.

Nothing the South Africans bowlers sent their way had any effect.

Pakistan’s 100 was up in the 23rd over, with Sidra on 47 and Bismah on 22. Their 100-run partnership for the second wicket came in the 32nd over. Sidra’s contribution was 43 and Bismah’s was 45.

De Klerk finally got the wicket of Sidra when she trapped her lbw for 68 (82b, 6x4) and with the score on 149.

Aliya Riaz joined Bismah with only 37 runs from 102 balls required for victory. In the end, Bismah was not out on 60 (98b, 5x4) and Aliya on 19 (14b, 4x4).


Earlier, South Africa’s innings got off to a terrible start when Wolvaardt was bowled in the first over by Sadia Iqbal without scoring.

Tasmin Brits and Lara Goodall took the score to 35 for one before Goodall had to retire hurt in the eight over when she was struck hard by a shot from Brits.

The third umpire was called into action in the 12th over when Brits hit a ball straight back to Diana Baig and the question was asked whether it was a bump ball.

The decision was in favour of the home team and the South African batter had to depart for 32 (31b, 6x4), with the Proteas on 52 for two.

Sune Luus and Kapp couldn’t continue their winning partnership form as Luus was caught by Riaz of Pakistan captain Nida Dar’s bowling for 10 (24b, 1x4).

South Africa were 63 for three.

Goodall returned to the field after earlier leaving to get treatment for her injury but she didn’t last long, caught by Nida off the bowling of Nashra Sandhu for 13 (29b, 1x4). South Africa were wobbling on 64 for four.

De Klerk and Kapp hit 36 for the fifth wicket and took the score to 100 in the 28th over before Kapp was caught by Nashra off the bowling of Sadia for 21 (41b 1x4).

Nashra then got Delmi Tucker stumped by wicketkeeper Muneeba Ali for 25 (28b 4x4) and with the score on 137 in the 37th over.

South Africa slumped to 145 for seven at the start of the 39th over when Sinalo Jafta (6, 7b, 1x4) was run-out after a mix up with De Klerk.

The very next ball, the score became 145 for eight when debutant Waheeda Akhtar picked up her first ODI wicket after bowling Nondumiso Shangase for a duck.

Ayabonga Khaka was trapped lbw by Nida for eight and with the score on 160.

De Klerk got her first ODI 50 (87b, 3x4) in the 46th over with the score on 174 for nine.

She was eventually the last wicket to fall (60, 95b, 3x4), when Diana took a catch off the bowling of Aliya. Masabata Klaas was not out on five.

SOUTH AFRICA: Laura Wolvaardt (capt), Tazmin Britz, Lara Goodall, Sune Luus, Marizanne Kapp, Nadine de Klerk, Delmi Tucker, Sinalo Jafta, Nondumiso Shangase, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas.

PAKISTAN: Nida Dar (capt), Sidra Ameen, Sadaf Shamas, Bismah Maroof, Muneeba Ali, Aliya Riaz, Omaima Sohail, Diana Baig, Waheeda Akhtar, Nashra Sandhu, Sadia Iqbal.