Tuks crowned Varsity Shield champions after demolishing Varsity College

rugby26 April 2024 18:59

Scoring 15 tries to three, FNB UP-Tuks ran rampant and beat FNB Varsity College 95-21 in the final of the 2024 FNB Varsity Shield in Pretoria to add yet another trophy to their cabinet. The new champions finished the season unbeaten and will return to the FNB Varsity Cup next year.

Playing at home, with the clear objective of a spotless campaign and being crowned the champions, the Stripe Generation opened the scoring through captain Ethan Burger. The rest of the first half was a one-sided affair with more tries by Kamohelo Tlome, Cayno February, Henry Till and Marco Venter. Five minutes before the break, the home team were leading 38-0.

Varsity College finally registered points on the board on the stroke of halftime through flyhalf Frederick Marx who dotted down and converted his own try, the score 38-7 at the break.

Tuks came back and continued the demolition of their opponents who didn’t have any answers to the onslaught.

Bayanda Ngubane was the first to cross the try line with Ambesa Zenzile following shortly after. Varsity College then pulled one back through Benjamin Field while Michael Horak also managed a five-pointer for his team. Then it was more of the same from the Stripe Generation with Kyle Cyster scoring a brace with additional tries by Ruan van Blommestein, Haydn Kemp, Jacobus Louw and Tharquinn Manuel.


FNB UP-Tuks 95 (38) – Tries: Ethan Burger, Kamohelo Tlome, Bayanda Ngubane (2), Cayno February (2), Henry Till, Marco Venter, Ambesa Zenzile, Kyle Cyster (2), Ruan van Blommestein, Haydn Kemp, Jacobus Louw, Tharquinn Manuel. Conversions: Jean-Pierre Wentzel (8), Walter Visser (2).

FNB Varsity College 21 (7) - Tries: Frederick Marx, Benjamin Field, Michael Horak. Conversions: Frederick Marx (3).

FNB Player That Rocks: Kyle Cyster (FNB UP-Tuks)


FNB UP-Tuks: Ethan Lance Burger, Henry Edwin Till, Dian Stephan Coetzee, Johannes Wilhelmus Mare, Roald Hattingh, Kamohelo Tlome, Cayno Douglas February, Marco Venter, Chad-Lee Valentine, Jean-Pierre Wentzel, Ambesa Zenzile, Kobus Janse Van Rensburg, Tharquinn Thane Manuel, Bayanda Sinele Ngubane, Kyle Edward Cyster.

FNB Varsity College: Sonwabo Maseko, Jacques Marais, Siyabonga Dube, Robert Everson, Werner Coetzee, Juan Steyl, Enzo Van Niekerk, Mandisi Nkutha, Abande Mthembu, Frederick Marx, Nkazimulo Mzolo, Macmillian Mudara, Mbasa Nkonki, Sivuyisiwe Mpendu, Tshegofatso Ramaloko.

FNB Overall Player that Rocks: Tharquinn Manuel (FNB UP-Tuks)

FNB Back that Rocks: Tharquinn Manuel (FNB UP-Tuks)

FNB Forward that Rocks: Ethan Burger (FNB UP-Tuks)

Suzuki Rookie of the Year: Jean-Pierre Wentzel (FNB-Tuks)