Williams, Mokoena make it into CAF's team of the tournament for AFCON 2023

football14 February 2024 15:40| © CAF Online

The Confédération Africaine de Football (“CAF”) Technical Study Group (“TSG”) on Wednesday released the Best XI for the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations, Ivory Coast 2023.

The TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations Ivory Coast 2023, widely regarded as the best “Afcon” ever, concluded on Sunday in epic fashion with hosts, Ivory Coast completing one of the greatest comebacks by winning against Nigeria at Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Abidjan.

The CAF Technical Study Group has been following and analysing the tournament and its trends from day one.

Hosts Ivory Coast, the new African champions, have three names in the Best Xl: Ghislan Konan, Jean Michael Seri and Franck Kessie.

Kessie’s goal in the final helped the home side to secure the title.

Nigeria, who came oh-so-close, also have three names on the list: Ola Aina, William Troost-Ekong and Ademola Lookman.

South Africa, who entered the competition as underdogs but marched gallantly to a third-place finish have keeper, Ronwen Williams and Teboho Mokoena.

Williams made history when he saved four penalties in one match during the competition.

DR Congo, fourth-place, also had two names: Yoane Wissa and Chancel Mbemba.


With Williams in goals, Nigeria's Aina and Troost-Ekong showcased their defensive prowess, earning spots in the backline alongside Ivory Coast's Konan and DR Congo's Chancel Mbemba.

In midfield, a diverse array of talent emerges, with South Africa's Mokoena providing defensive stability alongside Ivory Coast's Jean Michael Seri and Kessie.

Upfront, the striking duo of Yoane Wissa from DR Congo and Nigeria's Ademola Lookman bring flair and potency to the forward line, complemented by Equatorial Guinea's Emilio Nsue, whose attacking threat kept defenders on their toes.

Nsue stands out as the competition's top scorer with five goals, despite his team not reaching the semifinals.

Goalkeeper: Ronwen Williams (South Africa)

Defenders: Ola Aina (Nigeria), Ghislan Konan (Ivory Coast), William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria), Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo).

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (South Africa), Jean Michael Seri (Ivory Coast), Franck Kessie

Strikers: Yoane Wissa (DR Congo), Ademola Lookman (Nigeria), Emilio Nsue (Equatorial Guinea)