FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: All you need to know

football21 June 2023 10:27| © SuperSport

All the information you need on teams, groups, fixtures, dates, venues and more about Australia & New Zealand 2023. Australia and New Zealand will co-host the ninth FIFA Women's World Cup.


How to Watch

- Get connected to DStv, GOtv or Showmax to enjoy unbeatable football CLICK HERE for all the details...

SuperSport app

- log in, personalise, and receive exclusive video footage. CLICK HERE for the best mobile experience.

Here are all the details you need to know about the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 -  teams, groups, fixtures, stadiums, and how to follow the action.

Women's World Cup dates: 20 July to 20 August 2023

Women's World Cup teams: 32 nations will compete in the Women’s World Cup for the first time. Born as a 12-team tournament in 1991, it was expanded to include 16 countries at USA 1999 and 24 at Canada 2015.

Portugal, Haiti and Panama will now join the likes of England, Spain and Germany in Australia and New Zealand on 20 July, when the two co-hosts face off against the Republic of Ireland and Norway, respectively.

The USA travel to the tournament as record and reigning champions and are looking to become the first ever nation to win three consecutive FIFA World Cup titles in either the women's or men's game.

Women's World Cup groups

Group A

  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Philippines 
  • Switzerland

Group B

  • Australia 
  • Republic of Ireland 
  • Nigeria 
  • Canada

Group C

  • Spain 
  • Costa Rica
  • Zambia
  • Japan

Group D

  • England 
  • Haiti 
  • Denmark
  • China PR

Group E

  • USA 
  • Vietnam 
  • Netherlands 
  • Portugal

Group F

  • France 
  • Jamaica
  • Brazil 
  • Panama 

Group G

  • Sweden 
  • South Africa 
  • Italy
  • Argentina

Group H

  • Germany 
  • Morocco
  • Colombia
  • Korea Republic

Women's World Cup fixture schedule

Following the group stage draw which took place in October 2022, the full fixture schedule for the tournament is now in place, with New Zealand v Norway the opening game on 20 July, and the final taking place on 20 August.



(All times CAT)

11 August

03:00, Wellington Regional Stadium (Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-tara)

09:30, Eden Park (Auckland/Tamaki Makaurau)

12 August

09:00, Brisbane Stadium (Brisbane/Meaanjin)

12:30, Stadium Australia (Sydney/Gadigal)


15 August

10:00, Eden Park (Auckland/Tamaki Makaurau)

16 August

12:00, Stadium Australia (Sydney/Gadigal)

Third-place match

19 August

10:00, Brisbane Stadium (Brisbane/Meaanjin)


20 August

12:00, Stadium Australia (Sydney/Gadigal)

Women's World Cup venues

  • Brisbane Stadium – Brisbane / Meaanjin, Australia
  • Dunedin Stadium – Dunedin / Otepoti, New Zealand
  • Eden Park – Auckland / Tamaki Makaurau, New Zealand
  • Hindmarsh Stadium – Adelaide / Tarntanya, Australia
  • Melbourne Rectangular Stadium – Melbourne / Naarm, Australia
  • Perth Rectangular Stadium – Perth / Boorloo, Australia
  • Stadium Australia – Sydney / Gadigal, Australia
  • Sydney Football Stadium – Sydney / Gadigal, Australia
  • Waikato Stadium – Hamilton / Kirikiriroa, New Zealand
  • Wellington Regional Stadium – Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara, New Zealand

Women's World Cup titles

  • USA (4)
  • Germany (2)
  • Norway (1)
  • Japan (1)