CSA T20 women's club championships return for another season

football18 April 2024 14:40| © Cricket SA
article image
Cricket kit @ Gallo Images

The second season of the T20 Women's Club Championship is set to take place from 19-21 April in Potchefstroom.

Building upon the success of last year's inaugural championship, this year's tournament promises to be a showcase of talent and determination as six elite clubs from across the country vie for the prestigious title.

Following intense regional qualifiers, each provincial champion has earned the right to compete on the national stage, embodying the spirit of excellence and competition.

The championship will feature some of South Africa's finest cricketing talent from renowned players representing teams such as Rhythm DHSOB CC, Jendamark United CC, Botshabelo CC, Irene Villagers CC, Union Stars CC, and Wanderers CC.

Union Stars, the reigning champions and the only undefeated side in last year's competition, return as the blue flag club.

Their remarkable achievement serves as a testament to their exceptional talent and dedication to the sport.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) Chief Executive Officer Pholetsi Moseki expressed his enthusiasm for the championship, stating; "CSA continues to prioritize the growth and development of women's cricket as a key strategic objective.

“As we reflect on the success of the inaugural Professional Domestic Women’s League, we are inspired to further elevate the women's game in South Africa. This championship serves as a testament to our commitment to nurturing talent and expanding opportunities for female athletes across the country."

“CSA prides themselves with the ability provide a platform for the country's top talent to shine, and this Championship represents a significant milestone in CSA’s efforts to promote inclusivity and accessibility within cricket,” said Moseki.


Union Stars CC: Andrews Micaela, Campher Jeze, de Jonk Faith, Jantjies Jeneviwe, Lottering Shenell, Manuel Jenilee, Nyovane Asakhe, Rabie Marnazelle, Rhodes Haroline, Saayman Julandi, Samson Emmy-Kay, Stuurman Kelsey, Winster Jane.

Jendamark United CC: Adonisi Aphilile, Arnolds Chene , Bonya Vuyolwethu, Glass Lee-Ann, Graham Bianca, January Tarran, Koloi Siyamthanda, Kwedini Olwethu, Maphetu Sinothando, Marais Danika, Mbodla Asanda, Mkele Zandile, Nazo Siphokazi, Tyesi Siyanda, Pienaar Anelisa.

Rhythm DHSOB CC: Pillay Catherine, Mahabeer Asheta, Taai Angelique Samantha, Vermaak Mia, Naidoo Kinisha, Pinini Kwanga Konke Endinako, Mali Zintle Nomtha, Hicks Loraine Marinda , Candler Alexandra Clare, Sheik Omar Zainub Bibi, Tootla Nafisa Ebrahim, Moodley Keshnee, Rooplall Diya.

Wanderers CC: Nong Gontse, Naidoo Drisha, Grieb Marlene, Tshidivhi Lwandle, Dinna Yashika, Goosen Mignon, Swanepoel Sam, Tshabalala Zinthle, Nkosi Khanyisile, Brest Traci, Nkosi Busi, Bell Croukamp Carryn, Medisetti Srilekha.

Botshabelo CC: Ratolo Hope, Masukela Tlaleng, Nelane Thando, Lephaila Boitumelo, Mokone Karabo, Mpiti Keletso, Nthoba Rethabile, Motsabi Bokamosho, Mahlaba Boitumelo, Mohapi Kekeletso, Ntsane Mampe, Rakoeane Lebohang, Thoabala Lebogang.

Irene Villagers CC: Andreou Pura, Ramkilawon Gopika, Venter Chanel, Janse van Rensburg Nicolien, Swart Nicole, Handford Ymke, Budhoo Courtney, Jordaan Milan, Muller Amone', Mashoene Makgorang, Sequeira Gabriella, Proudfoot Marizaan, Maharaj Rasika.