Davids re-elected as SARU deputy president

rugby20 June 2024 16:51
article image
Francois Davids © Gallo Images

Francois Davids was re-elected as the deputy president of the South African Rugby Union at the Union’s Annual Meeting in Cape Town on Thursday.

He will serve a four-year term.

Davids was opposed by Jerry Segwaba, the former president of the Free State Rugby Union.

Two positions on the Executive Council were also contested. Jannie Louw was re-elected for a second term and Adv Willie Small was elected as a new member for a four-year term.

The full membership of the Executive Council now comprises (in alphabetical order, elected unless stated):

Mark Alexander (president), Francois Davids (deputy president), Hennie Baartman; Belia Karsten, (independent), Melody Lekota (independent), Jannie Louw, Mary-Anne Musikewa (independent), Rian Oberholzer (CEO), Tryphosa Ramano (independent), Abubakar Saban (CFO), Randall September, Adv Willie Small, John Smit (players’ association nominee), Mimi Tau (independent).